Applicants seeking admission  for a Ph.D / Integrated Ph.D Programme in Physics or Theoretical Computer Science in  one  of the Participating Institutes may appear for the Joint Entrance Screening Test (JEST) at one of the Exam Centers. 
          Participating Institutes have their own eligibility criteria. Applicants who are expected to complete their final examinations by August of each year are also eligible to appear for the JEST exam of that year.
          Applicants must pay an application fee and register to appear for the exam.
          To prepare for the exam, applicants should see the syllabi and sample question papers.
Ph.D. Programme
  M.Sc. in Physics or M.Sc. / M.E. / M.Tech. in related disciplines.
  M.Sc. in Mathematics / Applied Physics / Applied Mathematics / Optics and Photonics / Instrumentation / Electronics will also be considered at IIA.
  B.E. or B.Tech. will also be considered at IISc, IMSc, IUCAA, JNCASR, NCRA-TIFR RRI, IISER Mohali, IISER Pune, IISER Thiruvananthapuram and SNBNCBS.
  Talented final year B.Sc. and first year M.Sc. in Physics / Electronics / Astronomy / Applied Mathematics students may also apply to be pre-selected for research scholarship at IUCAA.
  MSc  in Physics, Engineering Physics or Applied Physics will also be considered at IPR.
Theoretical Computer Science:
  M.Sc./ M.E. / M.Tech. / M.C.A. in Computer Science and related disciplines, and should be interested in the mathematical aspects of computer science. Visit website of IMSc for further details.
Integrated M.Sc. / M.Tech - Ph.D Programme 
  At HRI, IISER-Pune,  SNBNCBS, and NCRA-TIFR candidates with a Bachelor's degree will also be considered for the integrated M.Sc., Ph.D. programme in Physics. 
  At IMSc, graduates with Bachelor’s degree in science/ mathematics/ /statistics /computer science/information technology/Engineering will also be considered for admission in Physics and in Theoretical Computer Science, as part of an integrated Ph.D. programme. All candidates successful in the course work of this programme shall be awarded an M.Sc. degree.
  At SNBNCBS, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics) / B.E. / B.Tech. degree will be considered for the integrated Post-B.Sc.-Ph.D. programme in subject areas mentioned above. 
  At IIA, graduates with B.Sc. (Physics / Mathematics) / B.E. / B.Tech. in Electrical / Instrumentation / Engineering Physics / Electronics and Communications / Computer Science and Engineering / Optics and Photonics will be considered.
Integrated M.Tech - Ph.D. Programme at IIA
  Graduates with M.Sc. (Physics / Applied Physics) / Post-B.Sc. (Hons) in Optics and Optoelectronics / Radio Physics and Electronics / B.E. / B.Tech. degree in subjects mentioned above will be considered. Visit IIA website for details.
Integrated Ph.D. Programme at IISER, Thiruvananthapuram.
  Graduates with Bachelor’s degree in Physics/Technology/Engineering will be considered for the Int. Ph.D. programme in Physics.
Application Fee
  Applicants need to pay Rs.100/- (and 50 for SC/ST) as application fee. 
  Fee can be deposited directly to the following Account from any Branch of the State Bank of India  or Associated Banks of SBI using the standard Pay-in slip and collect the counterfoil.  Fee can also be made through NET Banking facility (3rd party transfer)  or Inter-bank transfer, NEFT to the following account.  A print out of the internet transaction receipt must be forwarded as proof of payment.
A/c No.: 32602922844.
Name  : JEST 2013.
Amount: Rs.100/-  (for SC/ST Rs.50/-).
Send the proof of payment to the JEST authorities by either of the following means, after obtaining your Unique Submission Number  by following these instructions.
Write your Name and Unique Submission Number on receipt/counterfoil/challan and scan and send by email to with a subject line : Receipt/Counterfoil/Challan.  The last date for sending the Fee receipt/Counter foil is 15th December, 2012.
Write your Name and Unique Submission Number on receipt/counterfoil/challan and send by post to
Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics,
Sector-1, Block-AF,
Kolkata-700 064,
Alternately, Fee can be paid by obtaining a DD in favour of  "JEST 2013", payable at Kolkata, and mailed to the above postal address.
Applications for the JEST exam can be made online or by ordinary post.
To apply by post, please send a request for printed application along with a self-addressed stamped envelop with postage of Rs 40 (Rupees forty only) affixed on it, by post to the following address:
Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics
I/AF  Bidhannagar, Kolkata 700064
Requests for application received after November 30, 2012 will not be considered.
To apply online, applicants must create an account using a valid e-mail ID. This account will remain valid from the time of account creation till one month after the date of declaration of results, for that year. Email ids are locked to the created account and to the application, and will be used for all communications with the applicants. Therefore, the email id should be active and must not be changed during this period.
To submit online application,  applicants must login to the created account and complete the application form. After submission,  an unique submission number will be issued. This number must be quoted by the applicant for any communication with the JEST authorities.
An Application Fee of Rs. 100 (Rs 50 for SC/ST applicants) is required to be paid into the Bank Account details provided here.  
The fee can be paid either before or after the online submission. The payment receipt/counterfoil/challan, including the applicants name and unique submission number, must be returned to the JEST authorities, before 25 December, 2012  by either of the following means:
1. scanned copy of counterfoil/challan/receipt, with name and unique submission number, emailed to
2. hard copy of counterfoil/challan/receipt, with name and unique submission number, sent by post to:  address will be given soon.
Participating Institutes
ARIES : Aryabhatta Research Institute of Observational Sciences, Nainital
HBNI : Homi Bhabha National Institute, Mumbai
HRI : Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad
IGCAR : Indira Gandhi Centre for Atomic Research, Kalpakkam
IIA : Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore
IISc : Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
IISER MOHALI : Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Mohali
IISER PUNE : Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune
IISER THIRUVANANTHAPURAM : Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram
IMSc : The Institute of Mathematical Sciences, Chennai
IOP : Institute of Physics, Bhubaneswar
IPR : Institute for Plasma Research, Gandhinagar
IUCAA : Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune
JNCASR : Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore
NCRA-TIFR : National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, TIFR, Pune
NISER : National Institute of Science Education and Research, Bhubaneswar
PRL : Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad
RRCAT : Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Technology, Indore
RRI : Raman Research Institute, Bangalore
SINP : Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics, Kolkata
SNBNCBS : Satyendra Nath Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata
UGC-DAE CSR : UGC-DAE Consortium for Scientific Research, Indore
VECC : Variable Energy Cyclotron Centre, Kolkata